View Single Post
Old July 9th, 2007
Download Junkie

darbea is flying high
Default A few methods of detecting bogus files

I have been using limewire for a few years, but this is my first post. I wanted to share what I had learned about fake files at least in the software and video categories.

First of all, Peer Guardian is a must have. Their lists are upgraded daily, and they block about 966 million IPs. That puts a dent in who gets thru to your machine.

Using Bitzi for movie downloads is an excellent way to prove your file is legitimate. And that's even before you choose the file to download. The size of a standard 2 hr movie is around 700 MGs. Some are lower, but anything below 690 MG isn't going to be good quailty. Many movies exceed 1 Gig, because the ripper did a quality job. They're going to look real good on your screen, and reencoding to DVD will produce excellent results.

A standard 1 hour TV show is usually around 350 to 400 MGs Again, check it with Bitzi. Also study your search results... after a while, you'll get a decent hunch what is real and what is fake, just by looking at the file name, and other clues. If you see comments like "the real thing", "not a cam", "excellent quality", and other such phrases, it's a good bet that they are fakes.

The overwhelming majority of movies and TV shows are AVIs. (99.99%) They could be encoded in DIVX, XVID, or the like, but they end up as AVI file, usually. A movie in MPG format is likely not going to be of good quailty, or might be a fake. just stay away from them. (on the other hand, little snippet videos, usually under 100 MGs, will be in MPG format. I usually don't have a need for these little files, so I can't really speak for them.