View Single Post
Old August 17th, 2005
Guesty McGuesterton

Quote:
Originally posted by Only A Hobo
now now... I take exception.. iPod is a brilliant machine, and I dearly love mine.

As to the rest of your post .... The spammers are getting quite clever and I fear the developers are not keeping up with them. If I was a developer I would say shut up we are doing everything possible. But I'm not.............................
No, the developers aren't doing everything they can - filesize filters aren't the hardest things in the world to incorporate into a program, (according to someone I asked who does a fair bit of programming) and doing so would eliminate the spam problem virtually overnight. Unless the spammers are clever enough to spoof the size of a file, there wouldn't be any way to get their crap past the filter without uploading very large files in place of the ones they currently send. Not very a cost-effective money making scheme.

As for iPods, I have numerous reasons for hating them. They're cheaply made, they break if you so much as look at them the wrong way, they're ludicrously overpriced, and all the ones I've heard skip all over the place if you move with any kind of speed.

Since they're basically glorified portable hard drives, there's also mechanical failure, (Google for common hard drive failures, and you'll see what can go wrong with a hard drive if you don't already know) decreased battery life due to powering the motor, and the risk of data loss and physical damage to the platters if the read heads make contact with them.

Then there's the fact that I really don't like sticking those bright white headphones in my ears and instantly becoming a mobile advertisement for Apple. If they want to advertise, they can do more TV ads.