View Single Post
Old December 11th, 2005
Valued Member contributor

Grandpa will become famous soon enough

Quote:
the most useful feature could be allowing users to edit filters... currently as I'm sure you know durning a search your results will show a load of files with 851.7kb as the file size this as we know is nothing but a virus file and it has been discussed in the forms for some time..
Quote:
also a filter with the option - fike must be greater than or less than (user enters number in kb or mb) -- would make a real differance
Any spam filter I have ever seen has never worked as well as a little common since. Lets see what was the fact I just read O yes there are 250 viruses being written every month and a unknown number of spam files.

Now lets see I am no program writer but if I wanted to get my spyware or virus spread and I new that apps were using size filters. I think I would just make them the size of common files.

Lets think how I might do that, don't know if it would work but lets say I wrote a file that is 857.1 Kb in size and I wanted to make it bigger humph what if I just held down the AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
AAAAAAAAAAAAAAA not to hard to make a file any size you want is it. Lets say I make this file in the Kb to Kb range I just effectively made a file the same size as most music files and if you filter it out you have blocked allot of usable files.

The only way of effectively filtering spam and viruses is if there is a server that contains all known good files and hashes users files and blocks all files that don't match. And we all know that isn't the way the network works.