View Single Post
Old February 17th, 2002
Unregistered

By: arspolitica ( Cameron )
Setting up a private network on a college LAN
2001-10-05 12:50
Currently I'm a first year student at UCLA. I know a bit about computers and networking, but I'm having difficulty setting up a filesharing
network on the lan. The reason I would really like to set one up is that UCLA has been having bandwith problems related to Nimda and
Code Red, and having been throtling bandwith and cutting off ports wherever they can. This includes very slow downloads from
Morpheus and an inability to connect to the Gnutella network.

The campus is so big, that a private gnutella network would be awesome, and I'm sure that I could get a number of nodes on the network.
I've been trying for a week now all the various gnutella clients trying to get a private network up and running but without any success.

Gnucleus appears to be the best gnutella client, and has built in options for a college network. Can someone lay out the basics of setting up
such a network, hopefully so that others at various colleges can use this as a resource should they decide to do the same.

-Thanks
Cameron

By: tman17m ( Tom Gored )
RE: Setting up a private network on a college LAN
2001-10-07 15:15
hey, ive had a similar idea, only im a student at OSU. yes, it would be so awsome becuse it would be fast and have many users...let
me know if you find anything out, i will too

By: russelharvey ( Russel Harvey )
Is there a 'server' software needed for this?
2001-10-07 23:25
Or the Gnucleus client software here can do it all?

Since the public Internet always have some servers for Gnucleus, in a private LAN network environment, would the Gnucleus
client that all needed?

By: theman2 ( Nick )
RE: Is there a 'server' software needed for this?
2001-10-08 00:35
server: a computer providing services for another computer (this is my definition)

any computer can be a server. I can load jgaa's war-ftpd and run an ftp server.