View Single Post
Old March 6th, 2007
Novicius

julowi is flying high
Default ideas for super-newbies & info for limewire gurus

hi there,
please note, i am very new to limewire, but i just wanted to share my experience on this stuff, which led to me reading all 19 pages worth of posts yesterday, only to find today that perhaps i never had a problem after all.
i thought i did yesterday because, when trying to download a 350MB avi file, i was stuck at speeds of 0-5KB/s, and this is with a theoretical download speed of around 160KB/s, according to speed tests.
some background for the gurus: i am running mac osx.4.8 and didnt have the firewall switched on, yet limewire was still displaying the brick wall, and in the bug report, "Received incoming this session" said false - which apparently indicates there is some firewall problem. as well as making the config changes suggested by murasame, i tried various things recommended on gnutella forums, such as adding gnutella/limewire to the list of things to allow in my network sharing settings, and setting up NAT-PMP with the airport admin utility as advised here: http://www.gnutellaforums.com/showth...threadid=52014
but this didnt seem to make any difference to the firewall stuff.
i stopped short of taking up the advice to set up manual port forwarding, as it looked like a really complex process, involving (from my understanding) setting up static ip addresses for all computers in the house using the same base station... i didnt want to get into all that, with my very limited IT knowledge.