View Single Post
Old December 20th, 2002
_eLeCtRiFyInG MeMbRr_

nDiScReEt is flying high
Default Re: RedHat 8.0 No Virtual Machine

Quote:
Originally posted by ClayD
Thank you for this thread, nDiScReEt. I did not view it at first, because it was very long. I thought it would be a general discussion, but when I read it I was surprised to see how many different and specific installation problems were addressed.

I'm afraid I may be misunderstanding some of the solutions. That's probably because I am a Linux novice and don't know the difference between Debian, Mandrake, and RedHat.

I found a problem very similar to mine. It is the missing Virtual Machine line for RedHat 8.0. I recently installed the most recent version of java, j2re-1.4.1.01 . Here is what my terminal says when I try to install LimeWire:

[root@localhost root]# /tmp
[root@localhost tmp]# sh
Thanks in advance,

ClayD
A few program clarifications before we begin:

vi is an editor like kate, kedit, emacs, and notepad.

A terminal is similiar to a "dos prompt" and the linux equivalents are Konsole, rxvt, Eterm, and Gnome Terminal.

Now onto your problem...

Let us define "installed" first. When you "installed" java to the /tmp directory, do you mean that is where you downloaded the java package? ...or where you directed the installation of java? Is this by means of a tar.gz file or rpm?

Let us assume that you are using a rpm. So, it is located in your /tmp directory.

Let us avoid "forcing" an install of your program on your system and simply remove and then reinstall your program.
Type this command into your kde terminal (as root):